Tuam RFC

Founded 1970

Co. Galway


Bert Gillard was a hugely popular figure in Tuam Rugby Club and his untimely death in 2005 left everyone who knew him shocked and saddened. A former player, captain and president, Bert was a true clubman in every sense. His passing left a huge void in the club and everyone felt it was very important that his memory would live on in the club.


Thus in 2006, the Bert Gillard clubperson of the year award was founded. This coveted accolade is presented at the end of each year to an individual the acting president deems to have dedicated their time and effort to the club throughout the season in an exemplary fashion. Sacrificing their time to the beneficiary of the club. Just like Bert Gillard did when he was a member of Tuam Rugby Club. 



The following are the winners of the Tuam Rugby Club Bert Gillard Clubperson of the year award:


2006 Rory Murphy

2007 Eugene Sharkey

2008 Michéal Maloney

2009 Owen Lydon

2010 Eugene Sharkey

2011 Declan Slattery 

2012 Seàn LeLievre

2013 John Ward

2014 John Ward

2015 Declan Slattery 

2016 Seàn Carter

2017 Pamela Devaney

2018 John Coen

2019 Jimmy Maughan

2020 Tony McDonagh

2021 Eoin Cosgrove

2022 Martin Nally

2023 Jimmy Wynne

2024 Mickey O'Connor 

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play